top of page

10 Artists That You Need To Know Before It's Too Late (2018 Edition)

Hey everyone,

I know it's been some time since I last uploaded, but don't fret, I am back. (Hopefully for good.)

I have returned with the third installment of this series. For those of you who have followed my writing over the past few years, I've been making these lists for a while.

To me, the opportunity to share something you appreciate with the people you appreciate just brings me a lot of joy. I love listening to music and I love sharing it. So, that's what I'm doing here.

I would like to share with you some really cool up and coming artists who may not get as much recognition as they deserve. If I do say so myself, I think it's kind of worked. I mean, I doubt that my little articles were the main reason for their successes, but I've been pretty darn good at predicting it.

If you'd like to check out the previous lists, here is the first one:

https://www.theodysseyonline.com/10-new-artists-you-need-to-know

Here is last year's:

https://rikopratt.wixsite.com/hazelnutcoffee/single-post/2017/08/18/10-New-Artists-That-You-Need-To-Know-Before-Its-Too-Late-2017-Edition

With this article, I also updated my "Playlist of the Week" section. In this new playlist I included two songs from each of the artists to give you a look at the different sides of their music. Be sure to check that out.

I hope I help you discover some new music that really speaks to you.

10. Kacy Hill

First up, is Kacy Hill. I discovered her last year through a recommendation from a friend. He showed me a lot of songs that day, but "Keep Me Sane" by Kacy Hill really stood out to me. Her delivery on the song was soft yet confident and sound-wise I found the song to be right up my alley.

Like any normal person, I decided that since I vibed with that song, it would make sense to look her up and go check out the rest of her music. Hill actually has a very interesting history in the music business. She was a backup dancer for Kanye West years ago and after recording her debut single "Experience" and showing it to him, he immediately signed her to his GOOD Music label.

Kanye isn't the only connection to the rap and hip hop world that Hill has; she's also collaborated with Travis Scott and Kid Cudi. It's easy to see some of those influences in her music since she experiments with a lot of trip hop elements. Her sound is hard to pin down, but she falls under the area of dream pop and alternative R&B. Yeah, it's just as cool as you'd think. She's released an EP titled Bloo and her debut album titled Like A Woman that you should definitely check out.

Recommended tracks: "Cruel" and "Arm's Length."

9. morgxn

This next artist I've been following for quite a while. Morgxn is another artist whose style is harder to define, but that's not a bad thing. It makes him ultimately that much more interesting and unique.

The first song I heard from him was a song called "xx" and it was actually in one of those advertisement's that YouTube plays before a video. Ya know, the ones you usually want to skip? Well, this one I definitely didn't skip. I was mesmerized by the song and I needed more, so naturally I clicked on the ad and well, here we are.

Morgxn's music could be defined as alternative, maybe even indie at some points and there's definitely some rock in there. I mean, I'd go as far as to throw in that he has some pop influences. Like I said, hard to define, but so so good. Morgxn's debut album vital is out and it features the aforementioned "xx," as well as his signature song "home" which you may have heard in the trailer of "Rise." Give him a listen, you won't be disappointed.

Recommended tracks: "carry the weight" and "translucent."

8. LAUREL

LAUREL is an artist that I found a couple years ago. She was on a list much like this one, detailing some great up and coming artists. She was one of my standouts from that list and since then, her music has continued to evolve.

If you're a fan of a killer bass and some groovy guitar then LAUREL is the artist for you. She's the perfect example of an indie/alternative rock artist with soaring vocals. I believe the first song I heard from her was "Too Far" and I was immediately hooked because I heard a lot of Florence Welch in her voice (anyone who knows me knows that Florence and the Machine is one of my favorite bands), so this was high praise.

Another great thing about LAUREL is that she writes and records all of her stuff in her home studio in East London, so with her, you know you have an authentic artist who isn't afraid to get personal. One of the main reasons I wanted to feature LAUREL is because her debut album DOGVIOLET is finally being released next week and I have a great feeling that she'll be getting much more exposure once it drops.

Recommended tracks: "Lovesick" and "Crave."

7. AU/RA

AU/RA is an artist that I'm really excited about. I've noticed recently that age doesn't really define artistry. On my list last year there were so many emerging artists that were under 18 who were creating some of the best music out there. AU/RA is one of them. I found her about a year ago when she was 15 and needless to say, I was very impressed. I knew immediately that she was something special, so I clicked that subscribe button without a second thought.

Her musical style can be described as alternative pop, but with some electronic influences. So, basically the exact shit I'm looking for. I first heard her song "Outsiders," an anthem for those of us who don't exactly fit into the "in-crowd." Another thing that stood out to me is that there's a darkness to her music that just makes you want to dive in deeper to this world she's creating.

Recently, AU/RA collaborated with Alan Walker and Tomine Harket on the EDM hit "Darkside" that will most certainly be the soundtrack to many nights out. Other than that, AU/RA doesn't have too many songs in the world right now, but I know that she'll release some new jams very soon. Her EP Outsiders is out and features some incredible tracks, so be sure to check that out.

Recommended tracks: "Kicks" and "Concrete Jungle."

6. Daniel Caesar

Now, Daniel Caesar is probably a more recognizable name than most of the other artists on the list. He's a big hit with music critics and he's done his fair amount of collaborations to help get his name out there.

A friend of mine actually recommended Daniel Caesar to me earlier in the year when were on our way to see another performer. I have similar music taste to this friend, so I had high hopes in regards to her recommendation. I was not disappointed. Maybe it's something about his voice or the fact that he speaks his truth in such a wonderful way. Daniel's style would be classified as R&B, but with a bit more soul thanks to his church background.

Around the same time my friend told me about him, she mentioned another artist H.E.R. who is also starting to blow up and receive more recognition. H.E.R. and Daniel Caesar have collaborated on a song called "Best Part" and it really is the best. That was probably the first song I heard, then I was hooked on both artists. Daniel Caesar has a few EPs out, but definitely listen to his debut album Freudian.

Recommended tracks: "Streetcar" and "We Find Love."

5. The Aces

I love the Aces, let's just get that out of the way. I found these girls a couple of years ago on the very same list I saw LAUREL on. They just had one song to their name—"Stuck," and from the second I heard it I loved it and now I'm a huge fan.

The Aces are probably best described as a pop band, maybe pop rock, but definitely 80's pop influenced. Think MUNA or The 1975, but still unique. I've had the pleasure of getting to see the girls live and meeting them and not only are they incredible performers, but they're also incredible people. It's easy to tell that they really love their fans and love what they're doing.

I see a lot of great things in the future for this band, so that's why I urge you to check them out now so you can say you knew them when. The Aces released their debut album When My Heart Felt Volcanic earlier this year, so be sure to listen to that, but don't be afraid to also look into their EP I Don't Like Being Honest for some great tunes.

Recommended tracks: "Fake Nice" and "Baby Who."

4. Jeremy Zucker

Jeremy Zucker is one of the artist I've found more recently. His song "all the kids are depressed" was featured in a playlist on Spotify. The title easily attracted me to it because it's obviously so true, but it's also something personal that me and so many people around me are going through. I had no choice but to give it a listen.

So, that's how that began and soon I was able to find so many more of his dark, honest anthems. Zucker has been classified as an indie artist, but I've been able to hear a bit of R&B influences in both his music and voice. I think alternative would be a better classification. He's another artist who is difficult to describe due to a lot of experimenting, but it's also paid off so well.

Jeremy Zucker has been in the game for a few more years than I initially knew, which made me wish I found him sooner. Better late than never, I guess. He has a multitude of releases that can be found on his Spotify. Some of his more recent EPs to check out would include Motions, idle and glisten.

Recommended tracks: "Weakness" and "'Bout It."

3. Jessie Reyez

Whenever I hear Jessie Reyez's name I get super excited. She's one of the standout upcoming artists, and for good reason. Her lyrics are honest, heartbreaking, funny at times, but still very real. She is no doubt one of the best artists out there right now.

I was lucky enough to have the same friend who recommended Daniel Caesar tell me about Jessie Reyez about a year ago. I heard the song "Figures" and honestly almost cried. It was beautiful, real, and the perfect song to get anyone into her. Stylistically, she falls into the R&B category, but she also strays away from what one would normally pin into that genre. I don't think she's a pop artist and I don't think she's completely alternative, but I can see some of those influences in her music.

Reyez has already done some collaborations with artists such as Calvin Harris and BLVK JVCK, so it would be foolish of me to say that she isn't already in the spotlight. If you haven't heard of her, now is the perfect time. Her debut EP Kiddo was released last year and she's been dropping a few other songs every so often on YouTube and Spotify.

Recommended tracks: "Fuck It" and "Gatekeeper."

2. King Princess

What a fucking queen, or should I say king? I love King Princess forever and ever.

King Princess is the lesbian icon that 20GAYTEEN needed. I was very fortunate to find her earlier in the year right after the release of her debut single "1950." This one song and its incredible video spoke to me and I just knew I had to continue to keep up with this artist. Since then, she released a second single "Talia" that quickly became a fan-favorite.

Chances are, if you've listened to alternative radio in the past few months, you may have heard "1950." The first time they played it, I screamed because most of the artists I find don't ever get airplay and if they do, it takes years. This alternative pop genius is already taking over the airwaves, next up the world.

After seeing her live (and meeting her), I got a preview of what is to come and you can expect a lot of guitar and a lot of slower, sad songs. So, basically exactly what I want and need in my life. Although, it might be a while before the album comes out, you can still enjoy her EP Make My Bed.

Recommended tracks: "Holy" and "Upper West Side."

1. Sigrid

Ah, finally. The moment we've all been waiting for, my number 1 artist. Well, this is someone that I've followed since her official debut single. It seems so long ago, but it was actually just early last year. She released her debut single "Don't Kill My Vibe" as a message to those who try to bring you down and manipulate you into thinking you owe them something. It hit pretty close to home.

I'm talking about Sigrid. Her epic delivery and musical uniqueness had me becoming a fan before the song had even ended. She is best described as a pop artist and I think that at any moment she can break into pop radio in the US and show everyone what she's made of.

I was going back and forth trying to figure out who I wanted on my list for last year and she unfortunately didn't make it, so I felt like I owed it to her to be on this list because she's been such an important and constant artist in my life. I wholeheartedly believe that number 1 is the perfect spot for her. Not that she isn't already used to it.

At the end of last year she was announced as the winner of BBC's Sound of 2018. Oh, you don't think that's a big deal? Past winners include Sam Smith, Ellie Goulding... oh, and Adele. So yeah, it's a pretty big deal. Sigrid is in good company and I have no doubt that she is on the brink of blowing up even further.

Another one of the best things about her music is that she's able to tackle big, upbeat anthems, but also has the emotional vulnerability to soar on her ballads. If you'd like to check out some of Sigrid's music you can listen to her two EP's Don't Kill My Vibe and Raw.

Recommended tracks: "Plot Twist" and "I Don't Wanna Know." (But all of them are good)

I highly recommend this artist and all of the ones mentioned above. I really hope you found something you like.

Recent Posts
bottom of page