top of page

My Year In Music: Songs

Hey!

It's me again!

Hopefully, you were able to check out the first article for "My Year In Music" (Honestly the order to read them in doesn't matter.) This article is gonna focus on the songs from this year that really spoke to me and inspired me. There were probably hundreds of thousands of songs released this year, so it was definitely tough to narrow it down. Remember, all of the songs represented here are from my personal opinion, and not that's all.

Before my official top 10, I wanted to highlight a few other songs that really spoke to me this year. I hope you find something you like!

Honorable Mentions:

Alessia Cara - Growing Pains

I'm such a huge fan of Alessia Cara. I loved her first album and I was so happy when she started releasing singles to lead up to the second one. The first new offering was "Growing Pains," a song that I shamelessly played over and over again because I absolutely felt every lyric detailing the awkwardness of growing up. The sound of the song is definitely more pop leaning, but with Cara's incredibly delivery, parts like the bridge sound as if she's close to rapping. Definitely a worthy listen.

Carly Rae Jepsen - Party For One

The queen of pop has returned. After 2015's incredible Emotion, Carly Rae Jepsen returns with a fun, self-love anthem that is sure to get you on your feet. Party For One can be interpreted in many ways, especially if you were to watch the accompanying video where several guests at a hotel each have a night on their own, including bathing, dancing in their underwear and watching sad movies. However you have your party for one, make sure this song is playing.

Benny Blanco (ft. Halsey and Khalid) - Eastside

When this song was first released, I wasn't sure exactly who Benny Blanco was. I had heard of him and knew that he's worked with a lot of familiar artists, but then I saw he was working with Halsey and Halsey basically created me so I needed to listen. Of course, my expectations were high, and they were definitely met. With the addition of newcomer Khalid, who had a very big year of his own, the song was elevated to a smash radio hit. If you ever get the chance, watch the video. It definitely meant a lot, especially Halsey's part, but that just might be my own bias.

Janelle Monáe (ft. Zoë Kravitz) - Screwed

Janelle Monáe is one of those artists who deserves more credit than she gets. She made an incredible album this year that I replayed over and over again. One song in particular, stood out to me. It was called "Screwed" and it features one of my favorite actress' Zoë Kravitz. In "Screwed," our girls take on the patriarchy by proclaiming that regardless of what they do, men will screw them over, so they figure it's time to dismantle toxic masculinity with a five minute banger. It's incredible and definitely my favorite song from Dirty Computer.

10. Lana Del Rey - Mariner's Apartment Complex

Of course, Lana Del Rey makes the list. After a few years of not quite hitting the mark (Honeymoon wasn't really my thing and Lust For Life was good, but not her best), I was instantly drawn in by the classic stylings of "Mariner's Apartment Complex."

If I'm being honest, I think it's one of my favorite Lana songs ever. From the nostalgic piano at the beginning, to the old timey vibe and Del Rey's effortless vocals, it takes me back to a time that I probably wasn't alive for, but kinda wish I was.

"Mariner's Apartment Complex" is the first single from Del Rey's upcoming record Norman Fucking Rockwell. She followed this beautiful track with another nostalgia filled tune, Venice Bitch, getting me more and more excited for the new album. Until the album is officially out, I will gladly sway along to "Mariner's Apartment Complex."

9. Sigrid - Sucker Punch

Sigrid is a new artist who I am so excited about. Just when I'm not sure if she can keep the momentum going with each release, she pulls out another big hit. "Sucker Punch" is the newest hit, and I can honestly say I'm obsessed.

If you've been keeping up with my blog, I wrote an article during the summer highlighting some new artists, and Sigrid topped my list this year. I have no doubt that within the next year or so, people will begin to know her name.

Sigrid just announced her debut album, titled after the lead single "Sucker Punch." I'm also happy to say that I had the chance to hear "Sucker Punch" on an alternative radio station here in San Diego. So, I know that everyone will hear her soon enough. "Sucker Punch" is a fiery, in-your-face pop track that gets your energy up and won't take long for you to start singing along.

8. Olivia O'Brien - I Don't Exist

Olivia O'Brien is another new artist who I am so excited for. Though, it's still unknown when her debut album will officially be released, with another EP on the horizon, she's given us one of the most personal songs to me this year.

"I Don't Exist" discusses the feeling of being left out of a friend group. The lyrics mention being on the end of the group and essentially being cropped out of the photo as if you didn't exist in the first place. A feeling I know all too well.

O'Brien's style is more pop leaning, but this particular track has a lot of R&B elements and her vocals soar during the "Am I even real?" bridge. This song spoke to me because of a situation I went through earlier in the year. When "I Don't Exist" came out, it immediately meant so much to me because then I knew I wasn't the only person going through it.

7. Nina Nesbitt - The Sun Will Come Up, The Seasons Will Change

Nina Nesbitt is an artist who has actually been around for years. Her earlier music was bigger in the UK, and that's where most of it ended up being released. Now, we fast forward and she's ready to make her American debut.

"The Sun Will Come Up, The Seasons Will Change" is the title track from her forthcoming album, and it's honestly spoken to me so deeply. I've loved every single song that she's released so far, so I am excited for the full record, but this track is my favorite. It's one of the slower songs, and I actually heard it on a TV show. I heard the lyric "Crazy how much my life has changed in just a year. There's people I've met, people I've left and some that didn't make it here," and I just felt she was speaking to me.

At her heart, Nesbitt is a song writer. She writes for other people and knowing that, I just wonder how she decides which songs to keep for herself. I'm so glad she kept this particular track. On the album track-list, it's positioned as the final song, which I believe is perfect for it. It's a great song to end your year with.

6. Lauren Jauregui - Expectations

The long awaited debut single "Expectations" from former Fifth Harmony member, Lauren Jauregui is here and it's even better than we thought it'd be. You could even say that it exceeded my expectations.

Horrible jokes aside, Jauregui spent a lot of time making sure this song was given to us perfectly and timely. She first performed the track on tour opening for Halsey in Latin America. The track was an instant favorite among fans, drawing attention to the live recordings on YouTube, hoping that it would be released as the first single.

Luckily, Jauregui listened to her fans and delivered the slick, soulful R&B jam by the end of the year. The track not only demonstrates her incredible pipes, but also showcases her songwriting abilities, which we weren't able to get too big a taste of during her Fifth Harmony days. Her debut album is due out next year, but until then "Expectations" is a perfectly replayable track.

5. Avril Lavigne - Head Above Water

I'll start this one by saying that I've always been an Avril Lavigne fan. Always. I legally own every single one of her albums and there was definitely a time when I considered her to be my favorite artist.

"Head Above Water" is her first release since her self-titled album in 2013 (which was actually amazing, disregarding "Hello Kitty"). This song is a far cry from Lavigne's previous offerings, but it's such an important and incredible song because of its difference. Lavigne went through a long battle with Lyme disease, accepting that she would die. She would pray and pray hoping that she could stay float and keep her head above her water.

Lavigne is still standing and feeling more empowered than ever and she brings us the soaring lead single from her upcoming sixth album of the same name. I believe it's the perfect way to start off a new era. This was definitely one of the songs that kept me going this year.

4. Charli XCX (ft. Troye Sivan) - 1999

I've been a fan of both of the artists featured on this song for quite a while. Troye Sivan was one of the most inspiring singers to me and Charli XCX was something new and different and she continues to be on the cutting edge of pop.

Now, I can't say that I believe that Charli always hits the mark with her songs. She's made some questionable music in the past year, so personally, I think 1999 was one of the best songs she's ever released. It's got everything needed to be a big radio pop hit, hailing several 90's references and fast talking verses from both artists.

The video for the song goes even further with its 90's references, including Spice Girls, The Matrix, Titanic and more. I have no doubt that this will be one of the biggest songs for both artists and I'm just glad to say that I was here before it officially blows up.

3. Halsey - Without Me

So, everyone knows that I’m basically the hugest Halsey fan. She created me and shaped me and her music changed me and it continues to do so. Her newest release, “Without Me” was an unexpected blessing.

“Without Me” doesn’t have any connection to either of Halsey’s first two albums, or even her eventual third release. It’s a standalone single that sonically sounds way different than her other songs. It has a more R&B vibe, with a chill beat and sing-along chorus.

Many rumors around it declared that the song was about her very public relationship with rapper G-Eazy, but Halsey is never one to reveal too much about her music. The thing I like about her most is that she allows you to interpret her songs in whichever way speaks to you. “Without Me” doesn’t directly apply to any of my relationships, but I though the track was an excellent change of pace from an excellent artist.

2. Billie Eilish - when the party's over

And now we get back to the really sad stuff. Another obvious fact about me is how big of a Billie Eilish fan I am. I found her a couple years back when she barely had two songs and I’ve watched her blossom into one of the year’s biggest new artists. Now, she basically has a fan army and I couldn’t be prouder of her.

“When The Party’s Over” was arguably one of her best releases, not only of this year, but overall. Eilish came into the music industry with that slower, darker style to her, and “When The Party’s Over” follows that, but it’s also very different. It’s bare, minimal. Most of the song revolves around Eilish’s impeccable vocals and delivery.

The song strikes a chord with me because of the intensity of the lyrics. Lines such as “Tore my shirt to stop you bleeding, but nothing ever stops you leaving” and “I’ll only hurt you if you let me” were painful to hear at first. That’s probably why I have such a connection to Billie Eilish, because she finds a way to put into music the darker feelings we all don’t like admitting we have. “When The Party’s Over” definitely made me feel more than I wanted to.

1. Maggie Rogers - Fallingwater

Finally, we reach my absolute favorite track of the year. Actually, it goes beyond that. “Fallingwater” by Maggie Rogers is my absolute favorite release of the year. It’s a song that I wasn’t expecting to hit me so hard. I had been a fan of Rogers for close to two years at that point, so I was excited for anything she put out. Little did I know that she would release one of my favorite tracks of all time.

Stylistically, “Fallingwater” has the gorgeous indie vibe that Rogers had given us before, but that's not the best part. "Fallingwater" harbors her greatest vocal performance thus far. There are so many lyrics that stand out to me in the song, but I specifically wanted to single out “Hold on, I thought that I was doing so well. Oh, like everything was under a spell. Now it's getting harder” which basically summed up how I was feeling earlier in the year.

With all of the new releases after this, I would still keep coming back to this song. There was something so special about it, and I knew Maggie could feel it too. That’s why she chose it to be the official lead single of her debut album Heard It In A Past Life due out on January 18, 2019. One of the highlights of my year was telling Maggie Rogers to her face how much the song meant to me. It’s definitely the song I’ve recommended to most of my friends this year. And that’s why I recommend it to all of you. “Fallingwater” will take you somewhere you’ve never been before, somewhere you'll feel like you've known all along, somewhere you'll never want to leave.

Remember, all of these are just my personal picks from the music that really spoke to me this year. If you found something that you hadn't heard before or something that you liked, then I am so happy to have helped with that. If you wanna read more articles like this, I just released a similar one focusing on my favorite concert experiences of the year. You can check that out here:

https://rikopratt.wixsite.com/hazelnutcoffee/single-post/2018/12/29/My-Year-In-Music-Concerts

Recent Posts
bottom of page