top of page

10 New Artists That You Need To Know Before It's Too Late (2017 Edition)

The most beautiful thing about music is that there will always be something new coming out in the next year, month—even in the next week. With way more musical occurrences than ever, it can almost be overwhelming at times.

You wonder what you should listen to and if listening to that will distract you from other great music that's coming out, but you love the artist you already started listening to and you don't wanna cheat on them and then you just spiral into this dark void of nothingness and...

Oh wait, that doesn't happen to you? You don't find a song from an artist and then listen to the rest of their music and then become obsessed with them forever?

No? Just me?

Oh.

Well, the point I was trying to eventually get to was that with all of this great music coming out so frequently, there are always great new artists that emerge. You just have to do a little digging.

In the past year, I've encountered an abundance of new artists. Today is dedicated to those new artists.

Now, for those that know me and followed my writing elsewhere, I created an article much like this on a different platform last year. You can see my top ten new artists of last year here:

I really enjoyed writing that and figured that there were more artists that deserved the recognition. So I thought, why not make one for this year. That's why I added "2017 Edition" to differentiate the article, as well as possibly alluding to it being a yearly column.

With this article, I also updated my "Playlist of the Week" section. In this new playlist I included two songs from each of the artists to give you a look at the different sides of their music. Be sure to check that out.

I hope I help you discover some new music that really speaks to you.

10. LÉON

First up, we have LÉON. Now, she is an artist that I've actually been following for almost two years. She's released a couple of EPs, but is yet to reach her big break. Hopefully with a full-length album she can achieve that success.

Born in Stockholm, Sweden as Lotta Lindgren, LÉON had no way to escape music. Her father was a composer and conductor while her mother was a cellist. It was her destiny to do music, and I'm so glad she did.

Her sound is such a unique blend of indie pop and R&B. It helps that she has a strong raspy voice to set the mood. Her upbeat debut single "Tired of Talking," gained a lot of attention in 2016 for being featured on the musical.ly app. Along with "Tired," the song "Liar" really showcases her vocal abilities. "Surround Me" and "Think About You" are personal favorite's I also recommend that continue the R&B and indie pop vibe she has crafted so well.

9. Cigarettes After Sex

This band has actually been around for quite longer than a year. Cigarettes After Sex was formed in 2008 and they released their first EP in 2012. I didn't become aware of the group until early 2016. A friend of mine was showing me a few cool new songs and their single "Affection" happened to one of them. I was immediately entranced. I hadn't heard a song like that before and I loved the feeling it gave me.

The group specializes in such a calm and ambient style. Every song is almost dreamlike. Definitely music you could put on during a leisure afternoon to enjoy the day, maybe read a book or draw. It just really helps you relax.

The band just released their self-titled debut album earlier this year in June. The whole album is a nice and breezy experience, so I highly recommend it. The lead single "K." is a standout track as well as "Sunsetz."

8. Olivia O'Brien

Olivia O'Brien is an artist that I hope has great success in pop radio. She has everything that an artist needs to achieve mainstream success. She's young, she has a strong understanding of pop music and she writes what she knows. She's not trying to be anything she's not. I respect that.

For some, her name or voice may sound familiar. Well, she did have somewhat of a success in early 2016 being featured on the No. 10 peaking "i hate u, i love u" by rapper Gnash. So yeah, I guess she has a Top 10 song. But she deserves a No. 1.

The song that I believe can reach such heights is an incredible track called "Empty" that helped me get through a dark period of my life earlier this year. In the song, she just captures the subject of depression so perfectly. Especially, at the end of the chorus when she sings "I don't wanna live, but I'm too scared to die."

This girl is destined for big things and I really hope that "Empty" gets the recognition it deserves. Her newest single "RIP" is also a strong contender to impact the charts and definitely a song that people can relate. Give her a listen. You won't be disappointed.

7. Skott

The next artist, I discovered last year in an article stating that she was co-signed by Lorde. (Anyone who knows me would know that I am Lorde's hugest fan) I had to check out this woman's music.

One of the most interesting things about Skott is her upbringing. She apparently grew up in a forest commune with outcast folk musicians, not hearing contemporary music until her mid-teens.

When I started listening to her, she only had two songs. "Wolf" and "Porcelain." Both amazing songs, so I couldn't complain. Both songs had a dark, alternative sound to them that just draws you in. "Porcelain" became my early favorite because of it's unique and twisted chorus, but don't get me wrong, "Wolf" was definitely lots of fun, being the more upbeat one.

As of now, Skott has a few more songs that are one hundred percent worth checking out, like the recently released "Mermaid."

6. Shura

Shura is an artist that I discovered late last year. A lot of things had changed in my life and I felt different, but Shura helped bring me back to reality and I think it's beautiful when an artist can do that.

Last year, Shura released her fantastic debut album "Nothing's Real" which I would call an explosion of 80's inspired snyth pop beauty. There's just something awesome and incredibly nostalgic about the sound and the way she sings.

One of my favorite non-album songs is a track titled "Just Once" that you can easily find on YouTue. I found it very sad that I didn't get to hear it on the album but it's still awesome that it is out there. It's a deeply personal track that feature that signature sound and some of the most relatable lyrics I've heard.

As for the tracks on "Nothing's Real," the song "Touch" which served as the lead single, became the most popular of the lot. The whole album is worth checking out but other notable tracks include "What's It Gonna Be?" and "2Shy."

5. Declan McKenna

Another artist that I'm extremely excited about is the 18 year old, indie rock force that is Declan McKenna. It just warms my heart to see such a young person creating such special music. Hailing all the way from the United Kingdom, McKenna is already on so many must-listen to lists.

The thing that really differentiates him from so many artists his age is that he isn't afraid to talk about serious issues. His debut single "Brazil" turned many heads years back for its sharp critique on money, power and sports. It's just very intriguing that he created something so thought-provoking and important when he was only 16.

It doesn't stop there. Another song of his, "Paracetamol," was written after learning about the suicide of transgender teen Leelah Alcorn and the media's representation of LGBT communities in general.

His debut album "What Do You Think About The Car?" was released in May and features many more great tunes including "The Kids Don't Wanna Come Home" and "Isombard."

4. AURORA

AURORA is an artist that I discovered around the same time as Shura. I was in a weird place, I felt different. I guess I needed to be in that place because it helped me find both of these amazing artists.

AURORA spoke to me because she is the opposite of normal. She was something odd and with me feeling odd at the time, it just fit. Her style is best described as indie pop with folk influences and a mix of electropop. It's quite unique and quite spectacular.

Though not being a huge name, her music has already impacted the media by being featured in several television programs. Her track "Murder Song (5,4,3,2,1)" was featured in season 3 of The Flash as well as in the last season of Teen Wolf. "Through The Eyes Of A Child" was also featured in the most recent season of The 100.

Her debut album "All My Demons Greeting Me As A Friend" was released in early 2016 and features more great tracks like "Winter Bird," "Running With The Wolves" and her debut hit "Runaway."

3. Jaymes Young

This next artist is another strong musician that I've known for years. He was also shown to me by the friend that referred Cigarettes After Sex. Jaymes Young is a great blend of alternative rock and indie pop. I could even say that he has a bit of an R&B side to him.

The song that introduced me to him was the incredible "Habits Of My Heart." This is where I get more of the R&B feel. It's honestly one of the best songs I've ever heard. It has an amazing beat and undeniably sexy lyrics. Seriously, it wouldn't be entirely out of place on a 50 Shades soundtrack.

Finally, after many years of EPs, Young released his debut album "Feel Something" in June. From the album are two of his most popular songs, "I'll Be Good" and his Phoebe Ryan collaboration "We Won't." He's not too far from a big break, so if I were you I would definitely check him out.

2. Maggie Rogers

So as the list gets closer to the end, I start to get more excited. Maggie Rogers has been one of my favorite artists in the past year and for good reason. She makes incredible music. Rogers' style is what I would describe as folk music with an indie sensibility and some pop influences.

If the the name sounds even remotely familiar, it would be from a video with Pharrell Williams. Rogers was a student at NYU and she created the song "Alaska" and played it for Williams. He was instantly awestruck, stating that he had "never heard anything like it before."

I completely agree. "Alaska" is a breezy, timeless track that cannot be hated. Everyone that I've shown the song to has only had positive reactions. It's one of those tunes like "Be The One" by Dua Lipa that I can bring to anyone and they'll enjoy it.

Rogers only released her debut EP "Now That The Light Is Fading" in February of this year, so I'm hoping for a full album soon. Until then, other amazing songs by her include "Dog Years" and "On + Off."

1. Billie Eilish

Finally, we reach my No. 1 new artist. This is someone that I've been extremely excited about for quite a while. I've started sharing her music with so many people and it has received the best feedback.

Billie Eilish is a fifteen year old musical genius. Much like Declan Mckenna, I envy someone so young that can create such beautiful music and just be so aware of themselves. Her style is mainly electropop but occasionally she'll throw in some hip hop beats and R&B sounds.

Eilish was discovered by accident, actually. With the help of her brother Finneas, she recorded her debut hit "Ocean Eyes" for her dance teacher to choreograph. She put it on SoundCloud for the teacher to hear and then basically woke up the next day with a bunch of comments on the song. The power of music is unbelievable.

From then on, she began creating hit after hit. Her song "Six Feet Under" was featured on an episode of the underrated and short-lived MTV series "Sweet/Vicious." and she made the song "Bored" for the "Thirteen Reasons Why" soundtrack.

Several times this year, I've seen articles stating that she is pop's 'next hope' and that she will 'save the genre.' Of course, I agree. She's got something super special and I think that it will make a massive impact.

Last week, her debut EP "don't smile at me" was released and was well-received by many critics. The EP includes a personal favorite of mine, "bellyache" which is song where Eilish slips into the persona of a serial killer. Other great songs to check out are the impressive "COPYCAT," "my boy" and "watch." Scratch that. All of her songs are amazing! Just listen to them all!

I highly recommend this artist and all of the ones mentioned above. I really hope you found something you like.

Recent Posts
bottom of page