top of page

My Year In Music: Albums

Hey everyone!

Long time no see. I feel like I usually have to start new posts with some sort of 'lost time' greeting, but I'm gonna skip all of that.

A lot has happened since the last time I uploaded, but I'm not trying to make excuses. I totally fucked up. I was excited about a new series that ended up being a bit more overwhelming than anticipated. However, I still have plans to continue it next year. I actually have a lot planned for next year, and that will be revealed in due time. Right now, I'm just excited to be in this creative mindset once more.

Before all of that happens, we have to finish this year off right. So, I wanted to post more about one of my favorite things in the entire world: music. This is the first of three articles discussing some of my favorite music releases/experiences of the year.

Just so everyone knows, everything said in these articles is completely my opinion and I am not in any way discrediting any artists I fail to mention. This was simply for myself, as a way to reflect on the past year, including music that inspired me or really made me feel.

As always, I do my best to give recommendations, so if you find something you like then I would feel like I'm doing something right. Before I start with my personal top 10, I'd like to highlight a few other releases that I connected with this year.

Honorable Mentions:

Alec Benjamin - Narrated For You

Narrated For You technically qualifies as a mix-tape, but I decided to include it for an HM because I thought it was a beautiful collection of sad boy songs that were all too relatable. Don't be fooled by his sweet, boyish vocals, Alec Benjamin is a great upcoming singer-songwriting who knows how to use a guitar to his advantage

Recommended Tracks: "If We Have Each Other" and "1994."

Glades - To Love You

To Love You is the long awaited debut album from electro-pop band Glades. A friend introduced me to the band a few years ago and I've seen them grow into making some of their best music this year. To Love You showcases front-woman Karina Wykes' vocals effortlessly while incorporating some new rock influenced styles for the band.

Recommended Tracks: "Eyes Wide Shut" and "80 Miles."

Twenty One Pilots - Trench

After 2015's largely successful Blurryface, Twenty One Pilots gives us a more laid-back, chill vibe with Trench. And it works. I was pleasantly surprised by the record, knowing full well how eclectic this band could be, but Trench ended up being a cohesive, genre-bending triumph and I have no complaints.

Recommended Tracks: "Morph" and "The Hype."

Florence + The Machine - High As Hope

By now, everyone should know that Florence + The Machine is one of my favorite bands. With that information, I am sad to say that High As Hope is my least favorite of their releases. In no way does that mean it's not a good album. It's a more stripped back, ballad-heavy record with flawless vocals from Florence and it's lyrically very personal.

Recommended Tracks: "Patricia" and "Hunger."

10. Kacey Musgraves - Golden Hour

Now, Kacey Musgraves took me by surprise this year. I had previously heard of her from all of her early award show success, but I would never consider myself a serious country fan.

(I just listen to Carrie Underwood and The Band Perry. And I guess vintage Taylor Swift.)

The way I found out about this album was from an episode of Saturday Night Live earlier in the year where Musgraves was the musical guest. The first song she did was "Slow Burn" and I was immediately hypnotized by the simple acoustic feel of the song coupled with her soft vocals. Next up, she sang "High Horse" which got things to be a bit more lively, sounding like some sort of country/dance mixture and it was honestly great.

So, I was convinced to check out Golden Hour for myself and I was blown away. It would still definitely fall into the country genre, but it seemed to lack most of the typical country elements. I would consider calling it a "country album for people who don't like country." If that sounds like it would appeal to you, then I highly suggest you check Golden Hour out!

Recommended Tracks: "Slow Burn" and "Butterflies."

9. The Aces - When My Heart Felt Volcanic

I want to start off by saying I'm so proud of my girls, The Aces. They've come so far and I had the pleasure of seeing them live earlier this year and meeting each of them. Shortly after that, they released their official debut album When My Heart Felt Volcanic.

The album features the signature 80's pop rock influences that the band is known for, this time shining on their slower, vocal leading tracks. One song in particular, "Waiting For You" has stuck with me since the release of the album. It's not entirely stripped back, but it's chill and it has the best bass I've ever heard. It's the perfect way to end the record.

Aside from that song, the record includes their debut hit "Stuck" as well as "Volcanic Love" and "Fake Nice," the two infectious leading singles. Luckily, the girls are heading back on tour next year—this tour aptly titled the "Waiting For You Tour" which will more than likely feature the songs on the record that couldn't be performed before its release. If you're looking for bad ass ladies with MUNA/The 1975 vibes, then look no further!

Recommended Tracks: "Waiting For You" and "Hurricane."

8. Troye Sivan - Bloom

If you have been keeping up with my blog, then you'll see that I did a review on this record earlier in the year, so I won't blab on about it for too long. Here's the link to that article if you haven't had a chance to read it:

https://rikopratt.wixsite.com/hazelnutcoffee/single-post/2018/08/31/Troye-Sivan-Blooms-into-a-pop-superstar-with-his-magnificent-sophomore-album

Anyway, gay icon Troye Sivan released his second album Bloom and it's a great pop album, but personally to me, I connected with his first album Blue Nieghbourhood just a tiny bit more. Of course, Bloom is still a great album on its own. Singles "My My My!" and "Bloom" were great tunes to dance to with a friend or lover. If you want a solid pop record then I would definitely give Bloom a listen.

Recommended Tracks: "Seventeen" and "Postcard."

7. Imagine Dragons - Origins

I feel like Imagine Dragons is a band that people either love or hate. It's interesting since front-man Dan Reynolds is literally a saint, and someone I would totally want to be friends with. Maybe the constant change in styles gave everyone a bit of whiplash. Last year's "Thunder" was confusing. Of course, I still jammed to it.

Personally, I consider myself to be a pretty big Imagine Dragons fan. I legally own every album of theirs and I fully support the band. I especially support this newest release, Origins. I think it's their most cohesive offering and overall, it's just much better than Evolve.

Origins begins with lead single "Natural" which I believed should've been a bigger hit. I can see the possibility of more songs on the album becoming unexpectedly huge, but I don't think that was the goal for the band this time around, which I commend. I think the release of Origins came out of nowhere, but I'm glad that it exists.

Recommended Tracks: "Cool Out" and "Machine."

6. Charlie Puth - Voicenotes

Charlie Puth stole my heart this year with one of the best pop records, Voicenotes. We all heard the lead single "Attention" a million times on the radio and that was fine with me because I thought it had a really cool rhythm to it, which turned out to be true for the rest of the record.

I also, liked the nice change in pace from his previous album. Puth was a very sad boy during his debut, and now I think he's allowed himself to have a bit more fun. And don't get me wrong, I enjoyed his first record, but I think this Charlie is even better.

One of the best parts of Voicenotes is the all-star collaborations, including Boyz II Men, James Taylor, and Kehlani. Of course, these didn't turn out being as big of hits as "How Long" or "Attention," but I think Puth has a rare talent for working with others and making sure they have time to shine in each song. I think he's just got a great understanding of music and that's why Voicenotes was one of my favorites this year.

Recommended Tracks: "If You Leave Me Now" and "LA Girls."

5. Kali Uchis - Isolation

How do I even begin to describe Kali Uchis? She's amazing and iconic. I guess, that's a good start. A friend of mine introduced me to her about a year ago, and then I instantly became a fan. In fact, she turned out to be one of my most listened to artists this year according to Spotify.

Kali Uchis released her official debut album Isolation this year, so she would still be described as a new artist, but with how incredible this album turned out to be, you'd think she's been in the business forever. She knows her style and she knows what works for her. Isolation turned out to be a cohesive blend of R&B, neo-soul, reggaeton and more.

Isolation was another great example of an artist using their talents to collaborate and showcase other talents. The album included BIA, Jorja Smith, Tyler the Creator and many more. If you're looking for a refreshing and confident new album to listen to, I highly recommend Isolation.

Recommended Tracks: "Dead To Me" and "In My Dreams."

4. Hayley Kiyoko - Expectations

Expectations was another album that I reviewed earlier in the year. The link for that article can be found here:

https://rikopratt.wixsite.com/hazelnutcoffee/single-post/2018/04/02/Hayley-Kiyoko-exceeds-my-Expectations-with-promising-debut-album

In case you missed it, Lesbian Jesus, AKA Hayley Kiyoko blessed us with her long awaited debut album Expecations. I think it's a great first album that is unapologetically queer. After all, this album was the cornerstone of 20GayTeen, whether everyone knows it or not. Expectations is an extremely important record, and it helped to make so many of us in the queer community feel appreciated and represented. That is why this is one of my top albums.

Recommended Tracks: "Wanna Be Missed" and "Palm Dreams."

3. Alessia Cara - The Pains of Growing

Most people should know Alessia Cara's name by now. I would hope that it's for her something positive regarding her music, but there was a lot of attention around her Grammy controversy.

(Which shouldn't have been a big deal. People were just salty.)

Regardless, Cara moved past the haters and focused her attention to making a worthy successor to her hit packed debut album Know-It-All. The Pains of Growing was created for those of us in that weird space in our lives between young adulthood and adulthood. That's one of the best things about Cara, She writes what she knows, and she always has. It's real, it's honest and it's undoubtedly her best work.

The Pains of Growing was already one of my most anticipated records of the year, with 3 years passing since Alessia Cara's first record. With each song release this year, from lead single "Growing Pains," to promotional single "A Little More," to "Trust My Lonely," one of my favorite Alessia Cara songs, she would just get better and better. And needless to say, the full album did not disappoint.

Recommended Tracks: "I Don't Want To" and "All We Know."

2. Janelle Monáe - Dirty Computer

Janelle Monáe totally slayed this year. She released one of the most exciting, cohesive, woke, genre-filled, just overall perfect albums of the year. There was no subject off the table. She was free to discuss feminism, race issues, queer issues, sex, love—you name it.

Dirty Computer was unlike any other album this year, which is why I completely stand by it's nomination for Album of the Year at the Grammy's this upcoming ceremony. Monáe was at her best this year, being confident in her blackness, her femininity and her queerness.

According to Spotify, Monáe was another one of my top artists this year, largely due to me overplaying Dirty Computer over and over again dissecting all of the messages and symbolism. Dirty Computer is a required listen, and that's all there is to it.

Recommended Tracks: "Crazy, Classic, Life" and "Screwed."

1. Lily Allen - No Shame

Finally, we reach my number one pick and honestly it's no surprise. Lily Allen is an artist I've been following since high school and I'm so happy that she is continuing to make music. There was a brief period when she stopped and I wasn't sure if I'd ever get to hear any new tunes. She did eventually return, but not quite in the way she'd hoped. 2014's Sheezus was confusing for everyone, including Allen. She's actually done everything possible to erase it from her mind. Fast forward a few years and she's done that and more.

No Shame is Lily Allen's fourth record, and her most personal to date. On this album, Allen is finally able to make music she is proud of and talk about things she couldn't before. (She had a very public divorce and a frightening stalker experience.)

No Shame is Allen's most musically experimental record switching out huge pop hooks for laid-back vibey tracks. But beware, it's not all fun and games. There is an actual ballad section of the album. One after another, each getting more and more heart-breaking than the last. That's why I love Lily Allen so much. She's a raw and real artist who isn't afraid to get in touch with her feelings. According to Spotify, Lily Allen was my number one most listened to artist and it is rightfully so. No Shame was definitely one of her best albums, and my personal favorite album this year.

Recommended Tracks: "Come On Then" and "Everything To Feel Something."

Remember, all of these are just my personal picks from the music that really spoke to me this year. If you found something that you hadn't heard before or something that you liked, then I am so happy to have helped with that. If you wanna read more articles like this, I just released a similar one focusing on my favorite songs of the year. You can check that out here:

https://rikopratt.wixsite.com/hazelnutcoffee/single-post/2018/12/29/My-Year-In-Music-Songs

Recent Posts
bottom of page